PITTSBURGH COMMUNITY BENEFIT FUND

Minutes from the Board of Director's Meeting May 23, 2017

Present:

Jean Cooper, Chair

Colleen Emmerson, Treasurer

Rodger Compton George Sutherland Steve van Wynsberghe

Dawn Ellis-Thornton (recorder)

Amanda Milliken, Vice Chair

Rhonda Evans (Doyle), Secretary Clyde Smith

Darrell Townsend

Gary Oosterhof, Councillor

Regrets: Ryan Boehme, Councillor

Guests: None

1. Call to Order

The regular meeting of the Pittsburgh Community Benefit Fund Board of Directors was called to order at 7:30 pm on Tuesday May 23, 2017 at Holy Name Catholic School, by Chair Jean Cooper. Jean welcomed the new Directors and newly elected Councillor for Countryside to the meeting and gave a brief synopsis of the history of the Fund and the procedures by which the Board functions.

2. **Proof of Notice**

Notice was provided to Directors per the Bylaws.

3. **Pecuniary Interests/Conflict of Interest**

None reported.

4. **Approval of Agenda**

Moved (Colleen Emmerson)/Seconded (Rodger Compton)/CARRIED **That** the agenda be approved as amended.

Resolution 2017/19

5. **Approval of Minutes**

Moved (Amanda Milliken)/Seconded (Colleen Emmerson)/CARRIED

That the minutes of the Board meeting of March 6, 2017 be approved.

Resolution 2017/20

Moved (Amanda Milliken)/Seconded (Clyde Smith)/CARRIED

That the minutes of the Board meeting of April 26, 2017 be approved.

Resolution 2017/21

Moved (Rhonda Evans Doyle)/Seconded (Colleen Emmerson)/CARRIED

That the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of April 26, 2017 be adopted.

Resolution 2017/22

6. Business Arising From Minutes

There was no business arising.

7. Approval of 2017 Scholarships

The Scholarship Chair, Rhonda Evans (Doyle), reported that the Committee met, reviewed the 33 applications that were received for 2017 scholarships.

Moved(Rhonda Evans Doyle) /Seconded (George Sutherland)/CARRIED That the Board approve awarding the \$1,500 scholarships to the fifteen students as recommended by the Scholarship Committee.

Resolution 2017/23

Mitchell Dowd, Elizabeth Hall, Matthew Jansen, Eiryn Laing, Sophie Langlois, Mira Loock, Hailey McNutt-Fillion, Katie Mulvihill, Ryan O'Brien, Ashley Padaisks, Marie Paquin, Andra Scott, Piper Southward, Callum Tomlin, Viginia Weese

Board members agreed to volunteer and attend each school's convocation ceremonies; Dawn Ellis-Thornton to email dates and times.

8. Establishment of Project and Investment Committees

Project Committee:

Members:

Rodger Compton, Jean Cooper, Rhonda Evans Doyle, Clyde Smith, Darrell Townsend, Steve van Wynsberghe

Amanda Milliken nominated for Project Committee Chair by Jean Cooper, Seconded by Darrell Townsend CARRIED

Investment Committee:

Members:

Rodger Compton, Jean Cooper, Colleen Emmerson, Steve van Wynsberghe

George Sutherland nominated for Investment Committee Chair by Colleen Emmerson, Seconded by Rodger Compton CARRIED

George Sutherland to contact Marc Leblanc to set an Investment meeting.

9.	Reports
----	---------

9.1 Chair - Jean Cooper

Nothing to report.

9.2 Secretary – Rhonda Evans (Doyle)

Nothing to report.

9.3 Treasurer - Colleen Emmerson

Moved (Colleen Emmerson)/Seconded (Rodger Compton)/CARRIED

That the following invoices be approved for payment: Cunningham Swan for legal services Dawn Ellis-Thornton for administrative services.

\$540.00

Resolution 2017/24

- 9.4 **Investment Committee** George Sutherland Nothing to report.
- 9.5 **Projects Chair Amanda Milliken** Nothing to report.
- 9.6 Scholarship Committee Rhonda Evans (Doyle)
 Previously addressed.
- 9.7 Grass Creek Park
- 10. New Business

There was no new business.

- 11. **Next Meeting** will be scheduled for September or October, exact date to be confirmed.
- 12. **Meeting Conclusion**

The meeting concluded at 7:58 p.m.

Jean Cooper – Chair	•
Dawn Ellis-Thornton, Recording	